Jun 17

Coming Event:The Grand Shangpa Kagyu Empowerment

His Eminence Kalu Rinpoche has kindly accepted the sincere requests from disciples in Asia and will be giving the grand Shangpa Kagyu empowerment, which includes the entire set of empowerments and transmissions of Shangpa Kagyu Lineage. This series of transmission and empowerments is expected to be given in three sessions over the course of three years. The first session will be held in Bangkok, Thailand, Oct. 2019.


From Oct. 3rd to Oct. 6th, 2019


Bangkok, Thailand


Mail to asia@paldenshangpa.org for more information

【Payment with PayPal】

PayPal asia@paldenshangpa.org

Brief Introduction to Shangpa Kagyu Lineage

The Shangpa Kagyu lineage is regarded as one of the Eight Practice Lineages of Tibetan Buddhism, originating from the 10th to 11th centuries. During that period of time, master Khyungpo Naljor travelled to India and Nepal several times in search of the Dharma. He received teachings from two dakinis of extraordinary accomplishments, Niguma and Sukhasiddhi, who received teachings directly from Vajradhara. Aside from these two exceptional female teachers, Khyungpo Naljor also received extensive teachings and practices from other masters; thereupon he became the holder of four lineages: the Niguma Lineage ( the Six Yogas of Niguma and the Five Golden Dharmas ) , the Sukhasiddhi Lineage (Sukhasiddhi’s Six Yogas), the Shavaripa Lineage of Six-armed Mahakala Practice (which was passed down by Shavaripa to Maitripa and then to Rahulabhadra) , and the lineage of the Five-deity Practice from Dorjie Denpa. When Khyungpo Naljor went back to Tibet, he established his monastery in a place called “Shang”. Since then, the lineage has been known as Shangpa Kagyu.

In 19th century, as one of the principal founders of the Rime Movement, First Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche (Jamgon Kongtrul Lodro Thaye), dedicated a great effort in gathering the transmissions of the Shangpa Kagyu lineage and ensured their continuation by writting them into his five treasuries. In addition, the First Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche also built a Shangpa Kagyu retreat center at Tsadra Rinchen Drak near Palpung Monastery. Thereafter, the Shangpa Kagyu lineage holders were Lama Norbu, the First Kalu Rinpoche, Bokar Rinpoche and then nowadays the Second Kalu Rinpoche.

In the summer of the year 2009, after completion of the traditional three-year retreat, Kalu Rinpoche requested the Venerable Tai Situ Rinpoche to give him all the empowerments and teachings of Shangpa Kagyu Lineage.
Simultaneously, Tai Situ Rinpoche asked Kalu Rinpoche to take the responsibility of giving the teachings and empowerments of Shangpa Kagyu lineage for at least 108 times in this life. Alongside Tai Situ Rinpoche, Kalu Rinpoche accepted this great commitment and responsibility.