Nov 29

Kalu Rinpoche | Stages in the Path of Illusion | Lesson 3 (Part 1)

Tashi Delek everyone, to all my dharma sisters and brothers around the world. We will start in a few minutes. We let people come, make themselves comfortable. So, as as you can see, you will have different selections of translation. So I’m going to explain slowly and clearly as possible.

So, we will start with the refuge prayer, and then the bodhicitta, the four endless thoughts and the dedication and then the mandala. And then we start the session.

So, I hope everybody has the text since from the last time we did. And I’m very happy to be with all of you again, it’s been a while that I was not on the online engagement because I was in Vancouver teaching the Niguma yoga, you know, for people for six days of retreat. So, it was very meaningful for me as well as for them.

Because I think it’s very important for people to understand and balance between the body and the mind, and also the connection as well. Because many people when they think about Buddhism, either they think about some sort of silence, or either they think about intellectual debate, intellectual studies, intellectual approach. All these are meaningful, but I think the most important is that understanding our body, understanding the mind, gradually, progressively. I think that’s quite important.

Because, you know, we put our perspective into a very limited understanding. We say, are you happy? Are you sad? Are you excited? Are you not excited? Are you under pressure? Or are you feel a sense of isolation? So we put the idea of life very much into two categories. And also when we come to Buddhism, we also approach with that kind of a mental approach. That’s something we need to improve over the time. Because the yoga, when you do yoga, your mind is focused into the breath, and then you’re balancing the body and then having this continuous awareness.

There’s a saying that if you have the control and the awareness of the air, you have the awareness of the mind. When you don’t have the control or the awareness of the air, you do not have the awareness of the mind. And it’s something that we need to be grateful of, because we have all the tools. We don’t need a miracle method. We have all the practicable tools to experience oneself to engage in all these different practices. And I think we are very fortunate to be as human being, to meet with Dharma, to be able to experience just by some sort of dedication and some sort of very simple methods. So, that’s it.

So, we restart with the refuge prayer, Buddha, Dharma, Sangha and the Mandala.



I take refuge in the buddha, Dharma, and Supreme Assembly
Until the attainment of enlightenment.
Through the merit of practicing generosity and so forth,
May Buddhahood be accomplished for the benefit of beings.



May all beings have happiness and the causes of happiness.
May they be free from suffering and the causes of suffering.
May they be inseparable from true happiness devoid of and suffering.
May they realize great equanimity, without attachment to loved ones and
aversion to others.



Through homage, making offerings, confession,
rejoicing, exhorting, and supplicating,
whatever small virtue I have amassed,
I delicate it all to supreme enlightenment.



The ground is anointed with fragrant waters and streun with flowers,
adorned with Sumeru, the four continents, the sun, and the moon.
Through my imagining this as a buddha realm and offering it,
may all beings enjoy and completely pure realm.



Glorious and precious root guru
who sits on a lotus-moon seat on the crown of my head,
Through your great kindness, having taken me as a disciple,
Grant me the accomplishment of the body, speech and mind of the Buddhas.

So, I think you have to click on the logo of the interpretation. And then you will find your own selection of language, whether it’s Portuguese or German or Spanish, or Cantonese, or Mandarin, you can find in this interpretation categories. So you will have a choice over there. So you have to click on the interpretation and then you can get the selection of your language. Okay?

So, the title is this one.

༄༅། །རྒྱལ་བའི་བསྟན་པ་ལ་འཇུག་པའི་རིམ་པ་སྐྱེས་བུ་གསུམ་གྱི་མན་ངག་གི་ཁྲིད་ཡིག་བདུད་རྩིའི་ཉིང་ཁུ་ཞེས་བྱ་བ་བཞུགས་སོ། །

Last time I have explained to you but I will explain to our newcomers, just briefly.


It means the individuals who are entering into the path of Dharma, and then it’s divided into three categories, those who have basic qualities of mind, and the mid qualities and the profound qualities. So, those who can approach the different methods based on their own capacity. So, their capacity is based on three different methods.


You know, those individuals who are entering into the path of the Buddha Dharma, and are divided into three categories. And the three categories are the one who has ordinary qualities, limited understanding, the one who has a little bit broader understanding or capacity, and the third is more profound and limitless capacity. So the teachings for three different individuals of categories, let’s put it like this.


མན་ངག་ means instruction, ཁྲིད་ཡིག་ written instruction.བདུད་རྩི་ཉིང་ཁུ། means the essence of the necktar. That’s the name.

That’s the name.

The reason why I chose this one, including the Niguma, the Nigma is more to do with the symbolic teachings, and this is a more practical method. And the reason why I choose this text is because you can use this as an analytical meditation session. Like an example, you make a refuge prayer, just like we did. You make a mandala prayer. You make a bodhicitta prayer. And then at the same time, you think about one method, two method, three method and you repeat that, you keep it in the cycle again and again for 10 to 15 minutes. And then you make a dedication and so on.

You don’t have to finish all the different instruction. Like when I say the first cycle, that means you can use that for one session. And when I say three cycle, four cycle, five cycle, so you can use five cycles. It means five different methods, five different analytical meditation methods that you have to analyze. You can use five of them in one session, you can use two of them, you can use one. So it’s definitely it’s totally up to you. So that’s that.


Kalu Rinpoche
Teaching on Stages in the Path of Illusion,Lesson 3,Part 1
5th Nov. 2021