Jul 03

Kalu Rinpoche | The five faults

I have a question for all of you, you can answer to me … First is the five poisons, the five poisons, including the four faults. Remember? The five poisons are part of the fifth fault, and then changing into the five positive circumstances. So what are the five poisons?

  • ‘dod chags (འདོད་ཆགས – desire-attachment), zhe sdang (ཞེ་སྡང – anger), gti mug (གཏི་མུག – ignorance), phrag dog (ཕྲག་དོག – jealousy), nga rgyal (ང་རྒྱལ – pride).

Okay, so then what is the second category among the five faults? Remember we have the five negative faults, so now you have explained out of the five, you explained one chapter, what is the second one?

  • Trying to justify everything in this particular life, instead of seeking a liberation. This is the second category of the five faults (the five unfortunate circumstances, or five faults and the five positivities) right? So out of the five faults, first one you already mentioned, jealousy, anger, attachment, five poisons right? Then, second category of the five faults is: having fixation to this very singular life.

So what is the third one?

  • Denial to the cause and effect.

So now is the next? What’s after that?

  • Believing in samsaric happiness.

So what’s the last one?

  • Fixated mind. “This is who I am”, “This is who he is”, “That person is who she is”.

So every once in a while, I will give you surprise like that, okay?


Questions asked by Kalu Rinpoche to the participants
Teachings based on a Jetsün Tāranātha text – Paldenshangpa La Boulaye – June 17, 2021